Reading Time: 2 minutes

In the music industry, you have artists that pass by, others make one big shot and are forever gone and others… become legends. This is the case of Amy Winehouse. After her death last july, a new album is coming in december – Lioness hidden treasures.

The “chick from London” was an English singer-songwriter known for her powerful deep contralto vocals and her eclectic mix of musical genres including R&B, soul and jazz. Winehouse’s 2003 debut album, Frank, was critically successful in the UK. Her 2006 follow-up album, Back to Black, led to six Grammy Award nominations and five wins, tying the then record for the most wins by a female artist in a single night, and made Winehouse the first British female to win five Grammys, including three of the “Big Four”: Best New Artist, Record of the Year and Song of the Year.

Following her tragic death in July, some of the closest producers and musicians who worked with Amy Winehouse, among them Mark Ronson and Salaam Remi,spent time listening to many recordings that Amy had made before, during, and after release of “Frank” and “Back To Black”. It has been said by those who worked with Amy that the artist never sang it or never played a song twice in the same way. Salaamand Mark soon realized they there was a collection of songs that deserved to be heard, a collection of songs that were a faithful testimony of Amy as an artist but more importantly, of their friend Amy.

“Lioness: Hidden Treasures”: The third album from Amy Winehouse  will be released December 5th. She is, without a doubt, one of the most talented, original, and appreciated artist to emerge from the popular music world for decades,. The collection of 12 tracks including unreleased songs, alternate versions of existing conventional and two new compositions of Amy, and was compiled by his long-time musical partners Salaam Remi and Mark Ronson in collaboration with the family of Amy ,its management and record label Island Records. “Lioness: Hidden Treasures” is a real tribute to the artist, the talent and the woman, and reminds us of the extraordinary power of Amy as a writer, singer and performer.

The track list:

1 Our Day Will Come
2 Between The Cheats
3 Tears Dry
4 Wake Up Alone
5 Will You Still Love Me
6 Valerie
7 Like Smoke featuring NAS
8 The Girl From Ipanema
9 Halftime
10 Best Friends
11 Body & Soul avec Tony
12 A Song For You

“Sometimes when the lion is dead, the jungle still remembers its presence so that it never dies.” African quote.